Can You Repeat the Question?

14 Jan

I’m working on some forms and surveys for new customers. This has pushed two things to the front of my mind.

  1. Asking questions is an art.
  2. Social media success is largely dependent on your story-telling ability

Here are some of the questions I ask new or potential clients…

How did you get started in this field? How did your business get going?

Why Claremore? Why did you pick it as a home? Why did you base your business in it?

Tell me about your customers.

To pull in the story-telling side of this, I’ll spin you a yarn by answering one of these questions. Ask me out for coffee if you want to ask me more. 😉

How did I get into social media and think up Magic Bottle Marketing?

I got started in social media in 2008 through politics, just as an activist and volunteer. At that time I found American Majority‘s tutorials on Facebook and Twitter particularly helpful and I still point political activists new to social media to those guides. I’m ever so slowly breaking them of the ‘new media’ phrase. Social media is perfect for political campaigns. It’s immediate, agile, interactive, personable, but still capable of communicating en masse both to supporters and to the broader category of voters. It was a great introduction to the big wide world of social media.

I ‘picked’ the absolute worst time to graduate college: spring 2009. Everyone knew the recession was settling in. No one knew it was going to be a full-blown depression and that it would last through our present time. That fall and winter I found ‘a desperate band of brothers’ in social media–HR professionals, recruiters together with job seekers of every kind trying to find their way back to the American Dream.  I eventually found work (not the best work, but work) through other means. Even though social media didn’t get me hired I learned a great deal about branding from my experiences and the tutelage of some very fine people, professionally and personally. If you’re a job seeker, drop me an email and I’ll be glad to get you in touch with some of them.

Couple of months ago all of these threads came together with other experiences—-a swimming hole as a friend suggestion, the arrival of Google+, a social media workshop where I knew everything covered, a nudge from a friend—and clicked together into Magic Bottle Marketing.


One Response to “Can You Repeat the Question?”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Ask the Right Questions « Magic Bottle Marketing - January 25, 2012

    […] a perfectionist I’m never done with a project. So, as I mentioned last week, I’m still working on an intake form for clients. I hope someone else can learn through […]

Leave a Reply

