Are You Having Fun?

6 Jan

We added a family member recently. No, not Jarita. An Xbox. It has captured our hearts quickly and is already part of our routines. However, there is a learning curve, and while you’re climbing it the sound effects sound like this.

“NOO!!! Argh. Die. Die. Die……AHHHH! Where did he come from?! Oh, I died…….I’m out of ammo again!……Not that way! I didn’t say that way! The other way! Come on!”

I haven’t been allowed to capture any of the facial expressions yet. They’re quite amusing.

When the tension gets too high someone not sucked into the game (which is usually me) asks the person in torment “Are you still having fun? Because it’s a game. If you’re not having fun you should quit for now.” Sometimes just the reminder to have fun is enough for the gamer to start having fun again and sometimes they let someone else have a turn.

Business owners, when it comes to social media are you having fun?

First, let me try to convince you it’s fun.

When a customers walk into your store don’t you get a little excited? When you stock a new product aren’t you imagining in your head how your customers are going to react to it? When you land a contract aren’t you pumped to go to town on it? Of course! You love what you do and do what you love! You don’t find customer service a drag and consider store hours a chore. Social media is another way to communicate with customers. It’s a way to share your new product. It lets you communicate your excitement and methods as you tackle that new job. What’s not to have fun with?!

Still don’t feel the fun? Then give me the controller!

I really do love social media. When I’ve been working on something for Magic Bottle Marketing for too long and need to regroup my thoughts I just switch to personal or political social media. I’ve never gotten tired of social media. You can hand the controller to me anytime!

I don’t want you to get the wrong idea and think I’m juvenile with what I do. I know that social media for businesses is not entertainment. It is money-serious and that’s pretty serious. My clients are my job and not a game. But I sure do have a lot of fun with it!

Of course, there’s another reason folks have to drop the Xbox controller: time. Social media isn’t as time consuming as some forms of marketing, but it takes time. Probably the biggest time sucker is the most important part: creation of quality content. I’m hoping my blog writing time will decrease as I get better at it, but I know it will always be  a hefty piece of my week. It’s an investment that’s absolutely worth it, but to continue the investment motif, there’s no shame in hiring a broker. Just because you don’t have time to do social media for your business doesn’t mean it doesn’t need to be done. Not to put too fine of a point on it, but if you have tried to take your business social without taking the time and effort to do it right don’t think it’s useless. It’s not the oven’s fault you didn’t follow the cake recipe.

Drop me a line or give me a ring so I can be (double checks her analogies) your fun, baking broker!

One Response to “Are You Having Fun?”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Guilt Free Social Media « Magic Bottle Marketing - April 5, 2012

    […] Social media should be fun! Picture by ADoseOfShipBoy on […]

Leave a Reply

