Reflections

28 Dec

Photo by Augustin Ruiz

Every year I enjoy this quiet week between Christmas and New Year’s Day. It’s relaxed but still full of family. And full of awesome things like the Google Zeitgeist and Top 10 Everything List. All together it lends itself perfectly to reflection. I spend a lot of time journaling and then having late-night discussions with my family. (I believe with Mrs. Brown in National Velvet that big dreams come easier at night.)

I sway back and forth on the merits of New Year resolutions. In my experience, they’re not thought through. They’re not implemented in small enough steps. All together, they usually just end up being guilt trips I can beat myself up with next December. However, maybe if I spent more time on reflecting rather than resolving my goals would come naturally and in easier packages to handle. (BTW, I think dreams should be big, but they don’t make good one-year projects.) Therefore, here are some reflections with resolutions that fit with them. These are all on the professional side. I might share some of my personal reflections here later this week.

1. Reflect on the practical things I learned

Did you learn how to use a new payroll system? Did you finally master a social media tool? Did you earn a certification in anything? Personally, I learned how to use Google+, corporate LinkedIn pages, Google Apps, WordPress domains, and much more about Hootsuite than I had known before.

Resolve to…

  • teach someone else what I’ve learned
  • record my accomplishments in a resume, portfolio or on my LinkedIn profile
  • use these skills to help other individuals and businesses

2. Reflect on the most memorable experiences I had

What did you do professionaly this year that just took your breath away? Did you do something incredibly difficult? Did you do something that you hadn’t before? Did you get to be a part of something awesome? This year I started this adventure known as Magic Bottle Marketing which is turning out to be incredible! I also started writing more frequently on a professional level this year, which has been both a learning and fun experience. Several amazing things happened in my other professional life of politics. Six different times this year I was so very humbled by excellent candidates asking me to be a part of their team.

Resolve to…

  • Give back to those who enabled these amazing experiences
  • Record what happened for future learning and warm fuzzy feelings
  • Help someone else have a similar experience
  • Remain open-hearted and open-minded in the coming year so it too can have awesome experiences

Reflect on the abstract things I realized

Sometimes several different experiences and thoughts collide and snap together in your head for a light bulb moment. Did you have any of these this year? This summer I was fuming over another business I frequent starting a personal Facebook profile for their business when things snapped together in my mind with an almost audible ‘Do it yourself Anna!’ and Magic Bottle Marketing started happening. Another realization this year was a gradual adjusting to new norms with some health issues I’ve had. That may sound more personal, but it certainly affects my professional life.

These abstract things we learn are harder to coalesce into hard goals. For myself, I think I would have come to these realizations sooner and perhaps had more of them if I had been more mindful all the time. Therefore, I

Resolve to…

One Response to “Reflections”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Refining Your Message « Magic Bottle Marketing - February 16, 2012

    […] The first one is an attitude of gratefulness and responsibility for clients. You don’t have to give me business and I take the fact that you did very seriously. For more explanation, see Corporate Gratitude. Second, is a messaging approach that leverages the right social networks in the right way for clients’ goals and targeted customers. This is further explained in Social Media and Angry Birds. Third, I look back as often as I look forward. If I don’t know what I did before and how well it worked, I won’t know what to do next. I blogged about this some in the post Reflections. […]

Leave a Reply

