Claremore Christmas Roundup

23 Dec

I love the experiences of Christmas. I can stuff myself, see family, and buy presents anytime during the year and I do. Christmas for me then is first about my faith and then about the experiences. Here are some photos and information about my favorite Claremore Christmas experiences. Some of these are new to me this year, like the Claremore High School and Will Rogers Junior High Christmas concert. Others are favorites I missed out on this year, such as Dickens on the Boulevard. Sadly, it might be too late for you to get enjoy a few of these 2011 experiences, but there’s always next year! (I don’t follow the Mayan calendar…)

Dickens on the Boulevard

This always feels like the start of the Christmas season for me. It’s a sidewalk festival hosted by all the downtown businesses of Claremore and the Claremore Chamber. There are all kinds of activities inside the shops, but my favorite part is dancing down Main Street.

Photo by Melodrama Maniac

Some folks dress up in period costumes, but everybody dances. There’s also a shoot out at least once.

Photo by SBavido

Claremore Christmas Parade

I love parades period, but Claremore’s Christmas parade, sponsored by the Claremore Chamber, is especially fun because it’s a lights extravaganza night parade! Sadly, I could find no pictures of the parade large enough for you to enjoy. 😦 If you have any, please share them!

Christmas at the Belvidere

The Belvidere Mansion is worth a visit anytime of year, but they go all out at Christmas. The decorations are extravagent, vintage, and beautiful.

Photo from the Rogers County Historical Society

Oklahoma weather is amusing. Here’s the outside of the Mansion decked out for Christmas and the grass is still green!

Boughs of Holly!

Living Nativity at Shepherd’s Cross

Christmas cards are beautiful things, but they can give us a somewhat (dare I say it?) Hallmark view of the first Christmas. When you actually get to pet a donkey and sit on hay in the cold the very realistic beauty and truth of Christmas hits home.

Photo from Shepherd's Cross

This little fellow is pretty enough to be on a card though, don’t you think?

Photo from Shepherd's Cross

Christmas Eve Candlelight Services

I attend NPTBC and sadly we haven’t done a Christmas Eve service in a while. So I trot up Talbert Hill and go to First United Methodist’s service. Candlelight services are not just visually beautiful, but the perfect spiritual analogy for what Christmas did.

Photo by ineffable_pulchritude

And the bigger candles…

Photo by L.C.Nøttaasen

What does your town do for Christmas? What are you favorite experiences?

 

Leave a Reply

