Futuristic Musings

15 Dec

I like change. I enjoy contemplating what the future will be like, even if it doesn’t turn out that way. Here’s some of my musings in regards to social media and business.

NFC-enabled FourSquare check-ins will eventually make our current Foursquare check-ins look so laborious and old school.

I wonder if the word ‘niche’ is going to be replaced with ‘hashtag’. So, instead of trying to find your niche market you’ll hunt for the right hashtag. Or maybe it will be circle. “I found the perfect circle for my product!” Like so.

Even before it was my job/business, I loved being part of something new. I got my Google+ invite from David Reagan on July 12th and it actually kind of irks me that I didn’t ask for it in June (the first month it was available). I recently signed up for two new things: Wahooly and Schemer. I have my doubts about Wahooly, but I was too curious to say no. I do think Kickstarter will become the go-to way for artists, particularly Indie. Look at what Five Iron Frenzy did!

Schemer, Google+, and Google Calendar need to integrate in a big way. It would beat Facebook events black and blue.

Google should buy Get Glue in order to use it with Latitude and Schemer. That might give it a bit of an edge with Foursquare. Letting Dennis and Alex get away from them has got to be one of Google’s biggest mistakes.

Smartphones need to improve drastically at reading QR codes. There’s enormous potential there but it does try ones patience! Speaking of which…

Did your college also have those bulletin boards covered in flyers? Eventually, those will be nothing but pieces of paper with headlines and QR codes.

If you have a fairly complicated medical condition you could build a website telling paramedics about it and then tattoo a QR code for that website on your forearm or something.

QR codes could also replace those little tags kids wear ‘My mommy’s phone number is…’

It’s interesting how social media has made my life both more global and more local. I communicate with people all over the world based on common interests, but then I’m inspired to actually live out those interests locally. Someday, dire warnings about replacing social life with social media will sound as outrageous people who claimed homeschoolers wouldn’t know how to function in society.

How long do you think the Galaxy Nexus will be outrageously expensive? I’m hoping not long.

I wrote yesterday on Google+ about redundant background checks. Now I’m thinking of ways to make it social. What if you put up all your background check costs on Kickstarter?

Raquel Beaty, my soon-to-be-sister-in-love (her sister is marrying my brother), had her Google account briefly suspended yesterday. It was a mishap and was quickly set right, but my mother, Janet Bavido, pointed out that it was similar to having your mailbox ripped out by the US Post Office. Which left me pondering A, how long is the USP going to limp along? and B, when will email become a property owner’s right, like snail mail?

Thank you for wandering through these musings with me. What do you think about the future?

One Response to “Futuristic Musings”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Strokes Moustache… « Magic Bottle Marketing - January 9, 2012

    […] and social media generally is what is motivating this great resolution. I’ve mentioned this local phenomenon before. It’s interesting how social media has made my life both more global and more local. I […]

Leave a Reply

