3-in-1 Package

14 Dec

Today’s post is my ever-evolving sales pitch. In person it is of course much shorter. Consider this back story. 😉

Sales leads come mostly in three forms: returning customers, referrals, and advertising. Social media is a package that allows you to do all three.

Photo by John Hagstrom

Everyone prefers the known and trusted to the unknown and unproven. This is why people keep returning to the same businesses. I know the milk at Swan Bro.’s Dairy to be of high quality, so I keep going back. Through my household consumning about a gallon of their milk a day (true story) I’ve developed a congenial relationship with the brothers themselves, their family members that also work there, and a few nonfamily clerks. When they put out a crate of tomatoes for sale I bought some even though I had never had their tomatoes. Gardening and dairy farming only look the same on Hallmark cards, so it’s not that skills translate (that analogy would involve me buying cheese from them.) It’s because I had a positive relationship with them and I interacted with them regularly, about every other day.

There aren’t very many stores, outside of gas stations and grocery stores, that people frequent as often as I do Swan’s Dairy. What if a company like RCP Print Solutions started offering a new product or service? I will probably not see whatever fine little sign they put up in their storefront, like I saw Swan’s tomatoes. However, if they have been maintaining our relationship on Facebook or Google+ by posting engaging content consistently, and put up a blurb there about their new product I will see it and quite possibly act on it.

We're Watching You

On Facebook and Twitter anytime I interact with a page my whole network sees it. When I like a business’ page on Facebook it appears in my profile—right after where I work and who I’m dating! Anyone can see who I’m following on Twitter. My relationship with that business becomes part of my online identity. Both of these social networks keep track of what I do and use it to recommend that account to my network. “Anna Bavido has liked this.” “You follow a user who follows Magic Bottle Marketing.” Social media digitizes and amplifies word-of-mouth.

Photo by InCase.

If you do decide to do advertising online social media allows you to target these by an incredible number of variables. Unlike an ad in the newspaper or TV your online ad is relevent to the viewers and what they’re looking at. You can target by city location, zip code, what other interests they have, what they’re Googling, what language they’re using, age, and gender. You can even exclude certain categories, such as people looking for DIY or people you’ve already reached. I will probably have multiple blogs about advertising online and socially. Consider this just the top of the fork! (Hebrew saying equivalent to the tip of the iceberg)

Best part to my Scottish heart? All of this is free at best or significantly cheaper than other means at worst!

Leave a Reply

