Social Media and Angry Birds

8 Dec

I got hooked on Angry Birds when it became free to play in Google Chrome. After that it quickly ended up on my iPod Touch for offline playing. I am not a good player by any means, but I have learned a few tricks. One of these is to shoot each bird at the material it’s designed to destroy. Little blue guys are best for breaking up glass. The yellow bird can penetrate wood like no one else. The black explosive bird is ideal for leveling stone. In sociological and economic terms we would say that Angry Birds have specialization or division of labor. Remember reading about those concepts in school? It’s supposed to help set us humans apart from the animals, although bees have been doing it for a while.

This division of labor affects what type of innovations and tools come to be. We improve on what we already use. We solve problems we encounter and get inconvienced by. What one person invents to solve problem A is then used by the next person to solve problem A AND problems F and G that the inventer hadn’t gotten to yet.

Take a quantum leap here from slingshots, bees, and the wheel to social media platforms. Facebook started as a way for college students to connect (don’t believe quite everything in The Social Network). Twitter was born linked with ideas we now know as mobile and location-based. Google+ from its infancy has focused on resolving privacy issues that had left users of both Facebook and Buzz reeling. From those early days though each platform has grown way beyond whatever problem they were solving. Facebook is king of calendar socialization with Facebook Events. Twitter has become among many things a link farm and a chat service. Google+ is replacing blogs for some.

Imagine if in Angry Birds you threw every single bird at the exact same spot with equal force. I didn’t have the patience to try this method until I could progress no further, but I think we can all agree that your results would never be as good as if you used birds for what they’re good at. With that in mind, why would you ever publish the exact same post to all your social networks? For just a tiny bit more effort you can get much better results.

I might personally prefer one platform over another (Gladie here!), but I’m not going to dismiss the potential customers on any platform. If I’m going to do something I’m going to do it well. I learned the process, lingo, and community of each social network I provide professional services for. I do believe in a clear, cohesive message across all networks, but I always type out each post separately for each network. I use fewer emoticons on LinkedIn than I do on Facebook. I use relevant hashtags on Twitter. I try to include an image with Facebook posts, because Facebook’s algorithims favor images (this area of my Facebook page still needs some improvement). I post longer thoughts on Google+ than I would ever consider on any other platform. In fact, I’m considering cross-posting every entry here on Google+.

To sum up, a motto from my dad. “The right tool for the right job.” And if you wanted to know, I’m currently on the last game of Mine and Dine on Angry Birds. I hope to finish the world tonight!

5 Responses to “Social Media and Angry Birds”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Have I Mentioned You’re My Favorite? « Magic Bottle Marketing - December 8, 2011

    […] Yesterday I talked about leveraging social platforms effectively by not treating them all the same. Here’s a quote from it. […]

  2. The 3 Musketeers of Facebook « Magic Bottle Marketing - January 30, 2012

    […] Facebook down into 3 types. Let’s call them the 3 Musketeers! Profiles, Groups, and Pages. Just like with Angry Birds, each have a unique set of tools and uses. I’ll give a short description of each and then […]

  3. Refining Your Message « Magic Bottle Marketing - February 16, 2012

    […] in the right way for clients’ goals and targeted customers. This is further explained in Social Media and Angry Birds. Third, I look back as often as I look forward. If I don’t know what I did before and how well it […]

  4. Mandy Vavrinak @ #SMTulsa « Magic Bottle Marketing - March 27, 2012

    […] If you do not follow the path of The New 5 Ws and create relevant content you will be a time suck! No one wants to have their time sucked away by having to wade through irrelevant material! If you have your social networks linked together and synced up spewing out the same content at the same time GO HOME AND CHANGE THAT! (didn’t I blog about this once?) […]

  5. Social Media for Politics « Magic Bottle Marketing - April 18, 2012

    […] it’s easy to manage both FB & Twitter, so you might as well go with both. But please don’t link your […]

Leave a Reply

